The Auschwitz concentration camp was a group of camps built by Nazi Germany during World War II next to the Polish city of Oswiecim. The camp was operational between 1940 and 1945. By today's estimate 1.3 million people died in the camp, 90% of which were Jewish. The camp consist of a number of sites. Auschwitz I, the initial camp, served as the administrative center for the whole complex. The much larger Birkenau site (Auschwitz II-Birkenau) was set up at the end of 1941 to ease congestion at the main camp. The Auschwitz concentration camp has been a UNESCO world heritage site since 1979.
01 Gate with Arbeit macht frei sign 02 Housing blocks 03 Housing blocks 04 Electrified barbed wire fence 05 Housing blocks
06 Block 24 entrance 07 Housing blocks
08 Housing blocks 09 Electrified barbed wire fence 10 Gas chamber 11 Gas chamber
12 Crematorium 13 High voltage warning sign 14 High voltage warning sign 15 Electrified barbed wire fence 16 Hospital
01 Main entrance and railtracks 02 Main entrance and railtracks 03 Railtrack through main entrance 04 Bunk beds in wooden barracks 05 Bunk beds in wooden barracks
06 Wooden barracks 07 Wooden barracks 08 Wooden barracks
09 Main entrance 10 Electrified barbed wire fence
11 Medical barracks
12 Gas chamber ruins 13 Ruins of the gas chamber
14 Ruins of the gas chamber 15 Wooden guard tower 16 Commemorative plaque in Hebrew 17 Commemorative plaque in French
18 Memorial 19 Tourists in front of memorial 20 Memorial square 21 Memorial
22 Memorial 23 Memorial square 24 Ruins of the crematorium 25 Ruins of the crematorium
26 Ruins of the crematorium 27 Ruins of the crematorium 28 Medical barracks
29 Medical barracks 30 Main entrance and railtracks
Page viewed 1305 times since 11.03.24
©Copyright Alfred Molon