Oceania consists of Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and the islands of Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia. It is the world's fifth continent, after Europe, Asia, America and Africa. Geographically the region consist of the large Australian land mass and a very large number of islands spread over a wide area of the Pacific ocean. Oceania was first settled by Melanesian people, and later by Austronesian people. After the European discovery of Australia in the 17th century, Australia received a large number of European immigrants. Australia and New Zealand have highly developed economies, while most other countries in Oceania are much less developed.
Australia photo gallery  - 440 pictures of Australia
Micronesia photo gallery  - 30 pictures of Micronesia
440 photos of Australia, a large and sparsely populated country in the southern hemisphere
30 photos of Micronesia, including the island of Kosrae
Here you can enter a comment or suggestion. Leave your email address if you would like to receive a reply.
Page viewed 31851 times since 18.07.2009
©Copyright Alfred Molon