The Principality of Liechtenstein is a small country in the Alps, between Switzerland and Austria with an area of 160 sq km and a total population of 35000. Its capital is Vaduz and its official language is German. Most of the territory of Liechtenstein is mountainous. The country has existed as an independent entity since 1719, when Charles VI, Holy Roman Emperor, decreed that Vaduz and Schellenberg were united and elevated the newly formed territory to the dignity of Frstentum (principality) with the name "Liechtenstein". Liechtenstein has a strong financial sector and is a tax haven.
Vaduz photo gallery  - 31 pictures of Vaduz
31 photos of Vaduz, the capital of the principality of Liechtenstein
Here you can enter a comment or suggestion. Leave your email address if you would like to receive a reply.
Page viewed 12063 times since 06.04.10
©Copyright Alfred Molon