The Maluku islands are an archipelago of islands in eastern Indonesia, extending over about 700km from east to west and 1300km from north to south. They lie west of Papua, north of Timor and east of Sulawesi. In total there are over 1000 islands over an area of 850000 km². Most islands are relatively small and mountainous. The largest islands are Halmahera and Heram. Several islands, for instance Ternate and Tidore, are volcanic. In total 2.8 million inhabitants live on these islands. The islands contain the Indonesia provinces of Maluku and North Maluku.
Ternate photo gallery  - 66 pictures of Ternate
Tidore photo gallery  - 40 pictures of Tidore
66 photos of Ternate, an island in the Maluku archipelago, the site of the Ternate sultanate
40 photos of Tidore island, the site of the second Maluku islands spice sultanate
Gallery with all images
Here you can enter a comment or suggestion. Leave your email address if you would like to receive a reply.
Page viewed 1459 times since 26.09.19
©Copyright Alfred Molon