Mystras (also known as Mistra, Mystra and Mistras) is a fortified archaeological site of the Byzantine period located in the southern Peloponnese on a hill of the Taygetos mountains. In 1249 after the conquest of Costantinople William II Villehardouin established a fortress on a hill near Sparta. Soon after in 1261 the fortress was ceded to the Byzantine empire and a city developed around it, populated by inhabitants of neighbouring Sparta who didn't want to live under Latin rule. In 1348 Mystras became the seat of the Despotate of the Morea. In the 15th century Mystras was one of the last important centres of Byzantine culture, before falling into the hands of the Turks in 1460. In the 18th century Mystras was destroyed by Albanian troups of the Ottoman empire. The archaeological site of Mystras, with its ruins, palace, fortress, churches and monasteries has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1989.
01 Vrontochion monastery 02 Vrontochion monastery 03 Vrontochion monastery 04 Vrontochion monastery 05 Vrontochion monastery
06 Peribleptos monastery 07 Peribleptos monastery 08 Peribleptos monastery
09 Peribleptos monastery 10 Peribleptos monastery 11 Peribleptos monastery
12 Pantanassa monastery 13 Pantanassa monastery 14 Pantanassa monastery 15 Pantanassa monastery 16 Pantanassa monastery interior 17 Pantanassa monastery interior
18 Pantanassa monastery frescoes 19 Pantanassa monastery frescoes 01 Staircase to Kastro citadel 02 Kastro citadel walls 03 Kastro citadel walls
04 Monastery refectory 05 Mitropolis 06 Ruins 07 Ruins
08 Ruins 09 Ruins 10 Ruins 01 Mountains and forests 02 Mountains and forests
03 View of Mystras hill 04 View of Mystras hill 05 City of Sparta
06 Eurotas river valley 07 View of archaeological site of Mystras
08 View of archaeological site of Mystras 09 Eurotas river valley
Page viewed 1145 times since 21.05.24
©Copyright Alfred Molon