The Vrontochion monastery was built in the 13th century and became the cultural centre of Mystras. It includes two churches, Agioi Theodoroi and Afendiko (also known as Panagia Odigitria). The well preserved Peribleptos monastery was established in the 14th century. It has beautiful byzantine era architecture with vermilion tiled, semispherical domes. The Pantanassa monastery established in 1428 is the most recent of the monasteries of Mystras and is still populated today.

01 Vrontochion monastery 02 Vrontochion monastery 03 Vrontochion monastery 04 Vrontochion monastery 05 Vrontochion monastery
06 Peribleptos monastery 07 Peribleptos monastery 08 Peribleptos monastery 09 Peribleptos monastery
10 Peribleptos monastery 11 Peribleptos monastery 12 Pantanassa monastery 13 Pantanassa monastery 14 Pantanassa monastery
15 Pantanassa monastery 16 Pantanassa monastery interior 17 Pantanassa monastery interior 18 Pantanassa monastery frescoes 19 Pantanassa monastery frescoes
Page viewed 21682 times since 22.11.2009
©Copyright Alfred Molon