Starting from 1815 Strasbourg has been the seat of European institutions. Today it hosts over twenty international institutions, of which the most famous are the Council of Europe and the European Parliament. Together with Brussels and Luxembourg, Strasbourg is one of the three centres of the European Union. The European quarter is spread over an area covering the districts of Wacken, Orangerie and Robertsau in the north-west of Strasbourg.

01 European parliament building 02 European parliament building 03 European parliament building 04 European parliament building
05 Roof of European parliament building 06 Winston Churchill building 07 Statue of Europa on bull 08 Winston Churchill building
09 Council of Europe 10 Council of Europe 11 Council of Europe building and flag poles 12 Council of Europe building and flag poles
13 Flag poles next to Council of Europe building
Page viewed 18110 times since 08.11.2009
©Copyright Alfred Molon