The republic of Cyprus is an island country in the eastern Mediterranean, located 90km south of Turkey and 100km west of Syria. Measuring 225km from northeast to southwest and 85km from northwest to southeast, it has an area of 9251 km² and a population of 1.1 million inhabitants. Cyprus has been inhabited since the the 10th millennium BC and was first settled by Greeks in the 2nd millenium BC. It was subsequently ruled by the Assyrians, Egyptians, Persians, Romans, French, Venetians, Ottomans and finally became a British colony in the 20th century. After independence in 1960, the northern section of the island was occupied by the Turks in 1974 and a separate state of Northern Cyprus was carved out. Nowadays Cyprus is a member state of the European Union with a wealthy economy. Due to its natural and historical attractions it receives a large number of tourists every year (2.6 million in 2015). The capital of Cyprus and its largest city is Nicosia.

Paphos photo gallery  - 69 pictures of Paphos
Kyrenia photo gallery  - 36 pictures of Kyrenia
Nicosia photo gallery  - 61 pictures of Nicosia
Salamis photo gallery  - 23 pictures of Salamis
69 photos of Paphos, a coastal city in western Cyprus with a major archaeological site
36 photos of Kyrenia (Girne), the most beautiful city in Cyprus with a historic harbour and castle
61 photos of Nicosia, the divided capital of Cyprus
23 photos of the ancient city of Salamis, one of the most significant archaeological sites in the Mediterranean
Famagusta photo gallery  - 40 pictures of Famagusta
Akamas peninsula photo gallery  - 34 pictures of Akamas peninsula
Bellapais abbey photo gallery  - 13 pictures of Bellapais abbey
Buffavento castle photo gallery  - 22 pictures of Buffavento castle
St Hilarion castle photo gallery  - 21 pictures of St Hilarion castle
40 photos of Famagusta, a picturesque city on the eastern coast of Cyprus
34 photos of the Akamas peninsula, a promontory in western Cyprus with a large diversity of flora and fauna
13 photos of the Bellapais abbey and village, located on a mountainside near Kyrenia
22 photos of the Buffavento castle, located on a 950m mountain southwest of Kyrenia
21 photos of the St Hilarion castle in the Kyrenia mountains in Cyprus
Kantara castle photo gallery  - 12 pictures of Kantara castle
The west of Northern Cyprus photo gallery  - 35 pictures of The west of Northern Cyprus
Miscellaneous images photo gallery  - 24 pictures of Miscellaneous images
Monasteries and churches photo gallery  - 31 pictures of Monasteries and churches
12 photos of the Kantara castle in northern Cyprus
35 photos of the region of northern Cyprus west of Kyrenia
24 miscellaneous photos of Northern Cyprus
31 photos of churches and monasteries in Northern Cyprus
Here you can enter a comment or suggestion. Leave your email address if you would like to receive a reply.
Page viewed 242 times since 03.02.17
©Copyright Alfred Molon